Review of “Red Tide: The Flavel House Horror”, by David Reuben

Red Tide

Yikes! Wow, I’m glad this was fiction!

…or was it? Please tell me it was fiction…

Cripes–well, so much for sleeping with the lights off.

Okay, I should back up and let you in on what has me so worked up.

Ian McDermott, a cryptozoologist-turned-private investigator, has come to Astoria, Oregon with a new case to investigate. Fresh from the small town of Harmony Falls, where he’d just finished wrapping up the Loup-Garou investigation, he has heard rumors of some strange goings-on at a new nightclub, The Morgue.

People were disappearing, and all fingers pointed to the owner of the nightclub, one Vladimir Drago Salizzar, who coincidentally blew into town at the same time these disappearances started happening. Was this mere profiling of a strange, enigmatic character, or was there more to these rumors than just talk?

Ian takes on the case, with the blessings of the local police. He and his dog, Scout, are teamed up with one Ned Parker, who can only help him with as much as the authorities have been able to legally uncover.

For the rest of the information he needs, Ian has the lucky chance to meet a local author, Clayton Collins. This man knows a great deal (almost on a personal scale) about the myth and history of the vampire–including the story of Lilith, and the Unholy Power of Three that seems to permeate the vampire world. He introduces Ian to his niece, Zoey, who is only too eager to help him solve this mystery.

Safe and sane, right? Problem solved–bad guys are found, good guys exonerated, all that business.

Oh, you like to think so…but I can assure you that NO ONE here is exactly what he or she seems to be.

Even the dog.

 

This book was so well-written in so many ways. It attracted me first off because I am so familiar with the scenes and names Mr. Reuben used (with official permission) in this book. I’ve been to Astoria and I’ve seen the streets and buildings he so colorfully adds to his tale.

But what really kept my interest was the tightly-woven story, where there were no loose ends–except the intentional ones. Everyone is suspect, which makes for a great mystery story. As I said, even the dog is worth watching….

I liked the way the “extras”, if you will, walked into and out of the book like characters in a movie. No pretentiousness, no “sticking out like a sore thumb”–every one of these people had a part to play, and played it well.

“Loup Garou” is in my line of sight for reading next. I’m sure I will enjoy it as much as I did this book.

And I’m sure that, some day, Mr. Reuben will tell us what happened to Lucy’s body. Until then, I think I’ll visit Astoria in the daylight, thank you.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

