Interview with Barbara Bloom, talented author of children’s books

My guest today has several children’s books in her writing portfolio.  The poems are cute, the pictures are colorful and attractive to little ones, and her love for young children really shines in what she has written.  I enjoyed reading them, and I am sure parents of little people would find that their kids will enjoy them too.

So nice to have you here today, Barbara.  Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions.  And here we go:

What influenced you to write your books?

I developed the passion for writing poetry in elementary school and continued to write for my friends and family thereafter.  I love to express feelings through words that create emotion and stimulate the imagination.  I have always had a humorous side, and am not afraid to show it.

One day a deep thought hit me.  After raising four children and adopting two grandchildren, I felt that it was time for me to make a move forward in my own life and share my craft with others.  I had written a poem called “Your Shoes My Shoes.”  This turned out to be my first book in June 2012.

BBloom1

That was really cute–and rather unique.  Little ones would love seeing all the different kids of shoes.  Helps with learning words, too.

Do you have a favorite character or theme?

My favorite theme in writing is using rhyming words and creating a simple flow while carrying out a twist of rhythm throughout the story.

Little kids love when things rhyme.  I think it’s one of the best ways to learn.  They pick up on poems much faster, I think, because it’s more of a game for them.

Do you have any other books in progress, or that you plan to write?

Yes I do have several stories in progress and a few of the books are near completion.

Great!  I hope to hear about it when they come out!

Which is your favorite book?

Picking my favorite book is really a hard choice for me.  Each book that I have written has a very different story line.  I love all five books the same for a different reason.  I asked my family to take a vote using this question and the votes were evenly split between; “Your Shoes My Shoes” and “Dig The Digger.”

BBloom2

This one was where friends learn to help each other–nice lesson for young ones.  I can see how it would be difficult to choose just one book.  I can’t do it either–but some folks can.  So I had to ask.  🙂

What kinds of books do you like to read?

This is a fun question because rhyming picture books always put a smile on my face and I am reading constantly to my children ages three and six.  We love Dr. Seuss; Mo Willems and Shel Silverstein.  On occasion when I have time by myself I like to read southern stories by Mary Kay Andrews.

It’s fun to read to kids, because I think we all like to escape back into a simpler time, when an adult read to us from books like those–sometimes the very same dog-eared, much-loved-upon editions we carried around as children ourselves.

What do you like to do outside of writing?

I enjoy spending time with my family and going shopping for new shoes. The adventuresome side of me likes the thrill of amusement park rides.  Summertime is my favorite season of the year.  I love having fun in the sun, whether that be taking a swim in a clear Florida ocean, or simply entertaining at our home with family and friends coming over for a dive in the pool and some BBQ.

I’ll be right over…

You were in the Navy.  I’d like to take this opportunity to thank you for your time in service.

Thank you.  It was a great learning experience and an honor to serve our country.

And with that, our time together, so short, is at an end.  I hope our readers will comment or ask questions.  And please, do visit Barbara on her social pages, and get these cute stories for your own little people.

Barbara–anything else you want to add?

I would like to say thank you for taking the time for this interview Kathy Ree.   I appreciate everything that you do for others.  I would also like to thank everyone that takes the time to read my interview and I would love to stay in touch.  I want my friends and fans to know that I love each and every one of you.

You are one of the kindest souls I have ever had the privilege to meet.

Barbara Bloom Books:  http://www.smartscarlet.com

Books are available as e books and paperback @ Amazon:

Your Shoes My Shoes:

http://www.amazon.com/Your-Shoes-My-Love-ebook/dp/B0086CUV08/ref=cm_cr_pr_pb_t

BBloom5

Run Hide The Monster Is Outside

http://www.amazon.com/Monster-Outside-rhyming-childrens-ebook/dp/B0099G5S9Y/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1371088032&sr=1-1&keywords=run+hide+the+monster+is+outside

Dig The Digger

http://www.amazon.com/Dig-The-Digger-Construction-ebook/dp/B00B4FKKQ4/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1371088081&sr=1-1

BBloom4

School Time Rhyme

http://www.amazon.com/School-Time-Rhyme-childrens-ebook/dp/B00BEYR72A/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1371088152&sr=1-1&keywords=school+time+rhyme

BBloom3

Here Comes Pixie Pie  (my personal favorite – Kathy)

http://www.amazon.com/Comes-Pixie-rhyming-childrens-ebook/dp/B0099R1Z86/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1371088274&sr=1-1&keywords=here+comes+pixie+pie

Twitter:

http://www.twitter.com/smart_scarlet

http://www.twitter.com/barbara_bloom

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/Booksbybarbarabloom

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

